Saturday, November 22, 2014

Simple Step On How To Remove Virus In Windows - 2015 Edition

Tech Blog - This is an update to my 10 step easy how to on removing virus and spyware that can be found here, this  update will contain more up to date tools on removing virus and spyware on your PC.

Lets begin.

If your computer keeps on rebooting do the following first
  • Continuously press f8 during boot up then select safe mode
  • Once your in safe mode goto start > run > type msconfig > click on start up > unchecked everything click apply then reboot.
Tools we're going to use, you need to download the following:
Malwarebytes - download the free version from Malwarebytes,
Avast - a good free antivirus software, get it at www.avast.com

Step 1 - Download and Install Malwarebytes, run update if possible then do a scan.
Step 2 - Once Malwarebytes completed, install and run Avast and do a complete system scan.

As an alternative to Avast you can also use Microsoft Security Essential its also free you can get it here.




Friday, November 21, 2014

Improving Internet Speed with Google DNS A How To

Tech Blog - Few years back I posted  a how to on changing Smart's DNS to OpenDNS server to improve your internet usage experience, you can check that how to here, you can think of this post as an update to that instead of using OpenDNS we are going to use Google's public DNS, just use the details below as your primary or secondary DNS on your Computer or you router.

Google DNS
Preferred: 8.8.8.8
Alternate: 8.8.4.4

------------------
Via Wikipedia
The Domain Name System (DNS) is a hierarchical distributed naming system for computers, services, or any resource connected to the Internet or a private network. It associates various information with domain names assigned to each of the participating entities. Most prominently, it translates easily memorized domain names to the numerical IP addressesneeded for the purpose of computer services and devices worldwide. The Domain Name System is an essential component of the functionality of the Internet.[

Thursday, November 20, 2014

How To Set Google as Default Search Engine in Firefox

firefox browser
Tech Blog - With the recent announcement by Mozilla that they have dropped Google as its browser default search engine for Yahoo therefore Bing, we can expect in the future update Mozilla Firefox we will need to manually set Google as the default search in Firefox Browser, this is a quick how to on doing just that.


Step 1:

- Click on the arrow on the search bar you should be able to see "Manage Search Engine"

firefox bar






Step 2:

- Once you have selected "Manage Search Engine", you should be able to see the Windows on the picture below, here you can remove all the other search engine and just leave Google.

mozilla firefox

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Jolla Announces a new tablet - iPad alternative

jolla tablet
Tech Blog - Mobile startup Jolla announces today a new tablet, the tablet will be crowd funded and it is currently up at Indiegogo, with 21 days to go it has already met its initial goal of  $380,000, the Jolla tablet will be running Sailfish OS an extension of the open source MeeGo operating system which Jolla’s founding team of ex-Nokia employees had been working on before they left Nokia, the tablet hardware will be having a Quadcore Processor, 2gb ram, 5mp camera with 1080p capabilities, 7.85” with IPS and 2048 x 1536 pixel resolution, and for external storage it suppor upto 32gb SD card, for more details on the tablet you can visit Jolla, the tablet is targeted to be an alternative and direct competition to the Apple iPad.


jolla tablet



Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Nokia Z Launcher Open Beta Released

Tech Blog - Ahead of Nokia N1 Tablet announcement, Nokia made its Z Launcher for Android, Z Launcher is Nokia re-imagine of the Android home screen, Z Launcher is able to learn and predict how you use your phone, it has capabilities to recognize scribbles to help open app faster, as of this writing I have installed it on my phone and I am liking it, it feels more like IOS than android or Samsung Touchwiz, you can get Z launcher for free at Google Playstore.


Nokia
 z launcher




Skybroadband 5mbps review

Tech Blog - This is a short review of Skybroadband 5mbps internet service, I have been a Skybroadband subscriber for 3 years now, I was initially subscribe to their plan 999 plus 200 for a static IP and later upgraded to plan 1999 for their 5mbps plan, I would say that in my area(Paranaque) Skybroadband has been a very good provider of internet service, most issues are resolved within a day and the customer support are pretty good compared to Smart or PLDT customer service agent, there are some issues I had with them regarding torrent last year however this has also been resolve once they are confronted with fact and data that their are actively blocking certain trackers with their proxy, all in all if your looking for a good internet service in the south area I would suggest taking a look at Skybroadband.

 Pros:

- No throttling
- Subscription speed is constant.
- Minimal downtime, couple times a year.
- Good response time from their customer service agent.
- Can provide static IP for extra 200php a month for home users.
- Personal customer support number.

 Cons:

- Customer service agent sometimes "technically challenged".
- System Engineer/Administrator tendency to mess up or experiment on live production environment.

Sunday, March 02, 2014

Snugg Samsung Galaxy Note 8 Case Cover and Flip Stand in Distressed Brown Leather Review

Tech Blog - Today we are reviewing Snugg  Samsung  Galaxy Note 8 Case Cover and Flip Stand in Distressed Brown Leather, I have been using the case for about a week now since my original Samsung book cover broke after 6 months of use, anyway Snugg sent me the Snugg Galaxy Note 8 Case Cover and Flip Stand in Distressed Brown Leather, the case itself is made of PU leather not really luxurious material but it does the job, my first impression of the case is that the case has been made to stand abusive use as the leather seems to be stitched and given enough padding to actually protect your device, the case has been designed for easy access to the Samsung Galaxy Note 8's camera and ports, the case itself has strap on the inside so that you can strap the case to your hand to prevent accidental dropping, it also has a very well designed stand as can be seen on the pictures below, in conclusion for the price of $24.99 this is a very good case and worth the money .  









Pros:
- Case is well made leather are stitched not glued.
- Case is well designed making easy access to ports and cameras.
- Can be used as flip stand.
- Case has strap for convenience and prevent accidental dropping while using gadget.
- The distressed brown color look luxurious.
- Affordable at just $24.99
- No magnet on the cover except 2 small one on the left most corner of the flap.

Cons:
- Strap is difficult to use on your left hand if your a lefty.
- PU Leather I don't like PU Leather (I guess this keep the cost down)


You can buy the case at The Snugg Galaxy Note 8 Case Cover and Flip Stand in Distressed Brown Leather

Monday, February 03, 2014

Mounting NFS filesystem and fstab

Tech Blog - Here is a quick how to on mounting NFS filesystem and making it permanent on fstab.

You can manually mount the FS, however once machine is rebooted filesystem will also not be mounted

mount 192.168.3.123:/sharefolder /mnt

You can make the mount permanent even after reboot, just go to /etc and edit fstab file, you might also want to make a permanent mount folder aside from mnt.

let create the mount folder

mkdir /nfsfolder

then lets edit fstab

vi fstab 

ass the below entry
---------------------
192.168.3.123:/sharefolder   /nfsfolder       nfs   rw,intr,soft,nolock,noatime,rsiz                                       e=32768,wsize=32768
----------------------
save and exit

Mount the entry
mount -a


Then your done.

Sunday, February 02, 2014

Adding Sortable Help Topic column on osTicket

Tech Blog - Here is a guide on adding Help Topic column on osTicket ticket dashboard

Go to /var/www/html/ticket/ include/staff/

cd  /var/www/html/ticket/ include/staff/

Take backup of tickets.inc.php

cp -p ticket.incs.php tickets.inc.php-backup

Edit tickets.inc.php

vi tickets.inc.php

Saturday, February 01, 2014

osTicket show ticket number on thank you page | How To

Tech Blog - Here is a tutorial on how to modify osTicket to show ticket number on the thank you page, after ticket creation instead of showing "Ticket #XXXXXX has been created", do take note the Ticket# showing as XXXXX was intentional for security reason as on osTicket ticket number also  serve as password for checking ticket status, however if your using osTicket on private installation this is not a big concern.

Lets begin.

Go to your osTicket file mine is in /var/www/html/tickets

Take a backup of open.php

cp -p open.php open.php-back

edit open.php

vi open.php

Look for the line below

array_fill(0, 3, 'XXXXXX'),


And replace with 

array_fill(0, 3, $ticket->getExtID()),

Then save and exit, once you create a new ticket you should be able to see the ticket number on the thank you page.


For suggestion and concerns E-mail