Sunday, January 25, 2009

Network troubleshooting | DNS Problem | My IP Address Guide

Here is a quick guide to basic network troubleshooting, how to identify DNS problem and how to check your own IP address on desktop computers on Windows and some Linux, a lot of this guide will cover wireless since most of the desktop and laptop users this today uses wireless connection to connect to their network or their internet, still a lot of this will also work on wired network.

Now let begin -

Problem 1 - I can connect to my wireless network, can't surf the net and windows say Limited connectivity or Local connection only, what am I gonna do?

Ans. this problem could be cause by lack of DNS entry on your router or DNS entry on your computer.

to check on Windows if you have a DNS entry type

On Windows
ipconfig /all <- usually this would show all the details of your card, you should be able to see if there is a DNS entry assigned to it, there is a class c IP address assigned to you usually start with 192.168.*.* , and also check if there is a gateway which should be your routers IP address, if one of these is missing then you have to correct it.

To renew your IP Adress on Windows use the command

ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew

On Linux
ifconfig -a <- should show you the IP address and your interface details, such as IP, MAC address.

to check for gateway on Linux you need to issue the command
route <- you will be presented with a routing table, default Gateway should be defined to check if you have a DNS entry on Linux issue the command cat /etc/resolv.conf <- it should return something like "nameserver IP ADDRESS HERE" another way of identifying DNS problem is by issuing the following command Linux and Windows nslookup 72.14.207.99 <- if you receive a reply like the one below then its not a DNS problem

Name: eh-in-f99.google.com
Address: 72.14.207.99

Now that we have eliminated DNS problem

You have to check your routers configuration and make sure it not your internet provider that having connection issue.

use the ping command
ping yourgatewayiphere <- you should get a reply something like the one below Pinging 72.14.207.99 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 72.14.207.99: bytes=32 time=693ms TTL=238


Problem 2 - Cannot connect to the network at all

Make sure that wireless is turned on, and that your router is broadcasting SSID and has DHCP on, also make sure that the router is turned on, otherwise you will need to connect using a cable and see if you can connect.

NOTE: if all else fails try restarting(turn on/off) your router, most of the time this fixes it.


Thats it for now.

Friday, January 23, 2009

HD Tune hard disk utility for Windows

Have you ever though about how good it will be to be able to check the reliability of your hard disk from time to time so that you wouldn't be surprise that one day your hard disk just died on you, if you are looking for such a tool I recommend you use HD Tune hard disk utility I personally use it to check and test my hard disk. This program can error scan, check the health, benchmark, show detailed information, error scan and temperature display of your hard disk, I've been relying on this software for quite sometime now and so far it have been very usefull for me, HD Tune hard disk utility you can download HD Tune hard disk utility from their site for free or buy the more featured pack verion HD Tune Pro, HD Tune Hard disk utility will work on the following version of Windows XP, 2000, 2003 Server, Vista.

You can get HD Tune hard disk utility here.


Tech Blog's Quick List of other how to below:


Thursday, January 22, 2009

Disable Windows Autorun | howto

There are a lot of benefit of disabling Autroun on Windows but the most benefit is to your Windows' security, by disabling autorun you will help protect your system from virus and malware, there are 2 ways fo disabling Windows Autorun feature one if by editing the registry and other one is by using gpedit.msc

Let talk about using gpedit since its the simpler one

  • Goto Start > Run > type gpedit.msc
  • Then select "Administrative Templates" > System >
  • Look at the right pane there should be a "Turn off Autoplay" doublie click on it
  • Then select Enable, reboot then thats it.

Now let try it by editing the registry key

  • Goto HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > System > CurrentControlSet > Services > CDrom
  • Now look for Autorun on your right pane, double click on it
  • Replace 1 with 0
  • then your done.

Tech Blog's Quick List of other how to below:

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Bypass Proxy | Web Proxy

I have been looking for a great alternative to other web proxy site since the ones I use are already blocked by our filtering software, basically I just need it to read the Crack site which is also blocked I dont know why but it is, anyway I found this great proxy alternative called Bypass Proxy which will allow you to go to blocked sites or just plainly surf the web anonymously, as we may know a lot of companies and schools have blocked facebook, friendster and other social networing site even proxy sites are being blocked, anyway by using Bypass Proxy you will be able to view those sites without problems.

To know more about proxy check out Facebook Proxy


Tech Blog's Quick List of other how to below:



Monday, January 19, 2009

EASUS | Partition Manager | Tech Blog Review

Recently I was ask to EASUS Partition Manager server edition, so out of curiousity I used it on my Widnows Vista system even though it is not clearly written on the EASUS partition manager website that the version I have support Windows Vista I ran it anyway, everything came up right it manage to detect all my internal disk on my laptop, however I immediately notice that it has trouble detecting the filesystem on my 500gb USB external connected at that time to my laptop it is showing as unformatted even though it is formatted using fat32 filesystem, apart from that I find the EASUS partition manager easy to use, the interface show consolidated view of all your disk ala disk manager in Windows, it allows you to right click to see a sub menu with all the action you can take with the disk, some of the features of the EASUS partition manager are resize, move partitions without losing data, disk copy, partition copy to protect data, copy with resize to fit target space, create, delete and format partitions and hide and unhide partitions, all this features are available on their free home version, since I had a server edition my copy also comes with a feature that enable me too create a bootable CD/DVD to manage partitions, which based on my test is has a difficulty setting its video resolution on my laptop, bottomline if your a technical person you probably wouldn't need EASUS partition manager to do your partitioning, however if your not tech savvy or just new to tech EASUS partition manager is a good tool to help you understand disk partitioning as it comes with good documentation and does the job well and all in a single interface, I personnaly find the free home version to be very good tool to have on your tool kit, you download it at EASUS Partition Manager.


Tech Blog's Quick List of other how to below:


Saturday, January 17, 2009

File Unlocker | Error Fix

If you have encountered the following error on your Windows you need Unlocker, it will allow you to unlock whatever application is accessing it, check it out its free Unlocker
  • Cannot delete file: Access is denied
  • There has been a sharing violation.
  • The source or destination file may be in use.
  • The file is in use by another program or user.
  • Make sure the disk is not full or write-protected and that the file is not currently in use.



Friday, January 16, 2009

Ultimate Boot Disk | USB Key PC Repair Howto

Here is a quick howto on putting Ultimate Boot CD onto a USB flash drive, Ultimate Boot CD is Linux based computer repair tool kit that contains software used for repairing, restoring, or diagnosing almost any computer problem.

Step 1 - Format your flash disk using Fat 32 file system to do this plugin your flash drive to your computer, click on My Computer or Computer(Vista) right click on the removable disk, and select format, make sure Fat 32 is selected this process will delete and removed everything on that drive so make sure to backup stuff if there rae files in there.

Step 2 - Now Download UBCDfix2.exe here, and then run it is should create a UBCD folder

Step 3 - Now Download the UBCD ISO file here and move it to the UBCD folder created on step 2

Step 4 - Go to UBCD folder run fixubcd2.bat and follow the onscreen instructions

Step 5 - Reboot and change your BIOS startup setting to boot from USB, Then your done.

Tech Blog's Quick List of other how to below:

Thursday, January 15, 2009

Build your own Torrent Tracker

I am currently looking into creating my own private BitTorrent tracker for my own stuff, so like what I usually do I googled open source BitTorrent tracker, you would think that with all the torrent site around you would have seen a lot of result related to creating your own ratio based BitTorrent Tracker, but that is not the case so far I have only found 5 five of them which would comply to my requirements meaning it must run on a *nix server, it must be open source.

Diferior - Seems to be the most developed of the bunch and most updated it has quite a impressive feature list, more info about it at here

RivetTracker is a modified version of PHPBTTracker, Written in PHP, this BitTorrent tracker provides the same functionality as most other trackers and uses MySQL as the database backend. It provides an RSS feed, optional support for HTTP seeding, detailed connection statistics, more information and screenshots at here

PHPBTTracker is a simple and straightforward BitTorrent Tracker, more information and demo at here

TBSource code contains the basic components needed to build a private ratio based Bit-Torrent tracker. Originally based on the ByteMonsoon source, TBSource has easily become the most commonly used core for many of the private sites around today. you can get it here

BtiTracker is a complete php tracker system for BitTorrent, easy to setup and configure. Full remote admin management. you can get it here


Tech Blog's Quick List of other how to below:

Monday, January 12, 2009

Windows Backup | Free Tool

Here is a free useful tool for backing up your files to an external drive and having it automatically sync/updated on the background all you have to do is just set it up once and it will work perfectly syncing the folder/drive you specified on the background without you even noticing it, however like all backup I would recommend that you test and make sure that your backup tools is indeed working and accessible on your external drive, you don't want to find out when you need the files that your backup tool is not running or your backup is corrupted, anyway to the backup tool it is free and it is very convenient tol to use the tool is called SyncToy

Description of SyncToy

SyncToy 2.0 for Windows is available as a free download from the Microsoft Download Center. The easy to use, customizable application helps you copy, move, rename, and delete files between folders and computers.

There are files from all kinds of sources that we want to store and manage. Files are created by our digital cameras, e-mail, cell phones, portable media players, camcorders, PDAs, and laptops. Increasingly, computer users are using different folders, drives, and even different computers (such as a laptop and a desktop) to store, manage, retrieve and view files. Yet managing hundreds or thousands of files is still largely a manual operation. In some cases it is necessary to regularly get copies of files from another location to add to primary location; in other cases there is a need to keep two storage locations exactly in sync. Some users manage files manually, dragging and dropping from one place to another and keeping track of whether the locations are synchronized in their heads. Other users may use two or more applications to provide this functionality.

Now there is an easier way. SyncToy, a free PowerToy for Microsoft Windows, is an easy to use, highly customizable program that helps users to do the heavy lifting involved with the copying, moving, and synchronization of different directories. Most common operations can be performed with just a few clicks of the mouse, and additional customization is available without additional complexity. SyncToy can manage multiple sets of folders at the same time; it can combine files from two folders in one case, and mimic renames and deletes in another case. Unlike other applications, SyncToy actually keeps track of renames to files and will make sure those changes get carried over to the synchronized folder.
You can get SyncToy here

Wednesday, January 07, 2009

Samsung | Omnia i900 | Tech Review

Recently my girl friend's PDA a Palm Tungsten T3 broke down, so we went out and got a new PDA She was very specific what she wanted such as it must be able to read PDF/DOC/CHM files without conversion which I know it would be impossible to do on Palm OS, She also want her new PDA to be able to run Skyscape and other medical application, She also insist that it be a Phone with PDA, anyway we decided to get Samsung Omnia i900 8gb version, my first impression when I opened the box and feel the Samsung Omnia is that it so light it doesn't feel solid which is totally different from my iPod Touch and iPhone, when I turn on the phone I immediately tried if the touch screen of the Samsung Omnia's touch screen is as smooth as the ones on my iPod touch which I quickly learn is not even close, I also discover that my fat finger doesn't work well with the Samsung Omnia's touch screen which I resolved using the stylus that came with it, despite my dissapointment with the touch screen, not hotswapable memory card and plasticky feel of the phone, I find that there is a lot to like with the Samsung Omnia it is a feature pack phone/PDA, it sports GPS/Wifi/Blutooth it comes with a 5mp camera which has tons of features such as auto Flash, sequencial shot, I also find the interface of the Windows Mobile 6 to be easy to use, apart from the package software I also like that there are tons fo application available for the pocket pc, all in all if your looking for a good Phone/PDA Pocket PC I would highly recommend Samsung Omnia i900.

The Samsung Omnia i900 cost us P24,000 which I bought at Greenhill theatre Mall.

Tech Blog's Quick List of other how to below:



Tuesday, January 06, 2009

Free Webhosting Services | Review

Been busy since I came home from North America, anyway I have been looking for some web hosting company to host some of my sites and mostly blogs running on Wordpress, one of my friend recommended I signed up with 000webhost and try out their services, I have been trying out their free web hosting service for few weeks now, I find their hosting service to be very attractive specially the price of the package which is free, anyway the 000webhost free package comes with 1500 MB disk space, 100 GB of bandwidth, it support PHP and MySQL, CRON, GD, Streaming Video, the package also comes with limited Fantastico autoinstaller, and Full email support (I don’t use it), the user interface control panel for backup and restore of your site and on 000webhost interface is very easy to use and understand, 000webhost also offers FTP access to your account as well as a 2 web based file manager one is java based, best of all 000webhost is offering this service for free without banners or ads like unlike Geocities and also allows you to place your own ads on your site without restriction, so far I am happy with their service even if I occasionally I experienced downtime on my site specially during peak hours, considering they are offering this service for free it not too bad, anyway I have also checked out other web hosting services such as Bluehost and 1and1 hosting as I have read some very good user web hosting reviews about them, as off now I’m still looking for other webhosting company and haven’t decided, but if your looking for a web hosting company to host your blog I would recommend checking out 000webhost.

Link to www.000webhost.com

Thursday, January 01, 2009

Vulnerability Assessment | OpenVAS

From time to time we would like to audit our servers or do a vulnerability scan before moving a server to a production environment, and most of the time we don't have the budget or resource to pay for expensive comprehensive vulnerability scanner, that is where OpenVAS comes in OpenVAS stands for Open Vulnerability Assessment System is a network security scanner with associated tools like a graphical user front-end. The core component is a server with a set of network vulnerability tests (NVTs) to detect security problems in remote systems and applications, OpenVAS products are Free Software under GNU GPL and a fork of Nessus another great free vulnerability scanner. Anyway OpenVAS Server currently only runs on Linux platform, but you can run the client on Windows XP with SP2 machines.

Learn More about OpenVAS here

Tech Blog's Quick List of other how to below:

For suggestion and concerns E-mail