Friday, August 29, 2008

Hard Disk Recovery | Data Recovery | Test Disk

hard disk recover data recoveryIf your having problem because one of your disk just becomes unbootable or you accidentally deleted a file in your recycle bin, and you want to get it back without paying for expensive data recovery software, your in luck there is a great opensource data recovery software for you, and its free, I have used this in the past I just thought I would like to share it with you since this is such a great tool, I was able to recover files from a damage Sd card and disk as well as fix a partition on one of my desktop computer with it.

TestDisk is a powerful free data recovery software, it is designed to help recover lost partitions, fix unbootable disk when these symptoms are caused by faulty software, certain types of viruses or human error (such as accidentally deleting a Partition Table). which Testdisk can recover easily.
  • Fix partition table, recover deleted partition
  • Recover FAT32 boot sector from its backup
  • Rebuild FAT12/FAT16/FAT32 boot sector
  • Fix FAT tables
  • Rebuild NTFS boot sector
  • Recover NTFS boot sector from its backup
  • Fix MFT using MFT mirror
  • Locate ext2/ext3 Backup SuperBlock
  • Undelete files from FAT filesystem
  • Copy files from deleted FAT, NTFS and ext2/ext3 partitions.
Personally I have only tried it on Windows, but TestDisk also run on many platform
  • DOS (either real or in a Windows 9x DOS-box),
  • Windows (NT4, 2000, XP, 2003), Vista
  • Linux,
  • FreeBSD, NetBSD, OpenBSD,
  • SunOS and
  • MacOS
Another great thing about TestDisk it provides you with the document and howto's on using it you can find the wiki and tutorials here and you can download TestDisk here.

TestDisk home - CG SEcurity


Computer and Network problem | Windows | How to below:
Network Security System | IDS | IPS | Howto on Linux



Thursday, August 28, 2008

Bandwidth Monitoring | Free software

tech Blog Bandwidth MonitoringThere are now number of ISP’s all over the world disconnecting customers for using “too much” bandwidth, or putting bandwidth cap and charge extra money if you went over the cap, so knowing exactly how much you’ve downloaded or uploaded in a month can be very helpful, and prevent you from going over your allocated bandwidth.

To monitor your bandwidth on your computer you will need to install AnalogX Netstat Live a free bandwidth monitoring tool which you can download here, once you have downloaded Netstat Live you will need to install it, the installation is pretty straight forward, once installed, right-click anywhere in the Analog X Netstat Live window. Select Configure, then enable feature such as auto start, auto minimize and close minimizes, by enabling these features, Netstat Live will launch each time Windows starts up, but automatically minimize to your System Tray. Also, if you open it from the tray you can click the X button and it won’t actually close Netstat Live, rather it will be minimized back to your System Tray. Netstat Live must always be running, otherwise your uploads and downloads won’t be accurately tracked. Now you can track your Internet bandwidth (upload and downloads) usage. The current monthly total is displayed, along with the previous monthly total.

As you can see on the Outgoing and Incoming for the month are being show making tracking bandwidth easier.

If your using Linux I suggest downloading bandwidthd to track your bandwidthd. get it here

If you have multiple computer in your network you will need to install Netstat Live to each one of them.


Roblox | Build your Roblox Land

Roblox Roblox I found this interesting multiplayer Roblox site while I was looking at answer yahoo and somebody was asking about it, so I check it out I said to myself this looks cool, if I were still I kid I would probably like to play and join this game, actually I was tempted to join :) its like a Multiplayer Lego Land, where you get to build stuff and social network at the same time, I think this is one of those site I would like my kids if I have one to do, I believe this will encourage them to think and be creative, below is a description of Roblox.

ROBLOX is an online virtual playground and workshop — where kids of all ages can safely interact, create, have fun, and learn. It's unique in that practically everything in this infinite playground is designed and constructed by individual members of the ROBLOX community.

Each player starts by chosing an avatar and giving it an identity. They can then explore ROBLOX — interacting with others by chatting, playing games, or collaborating on creative projects.

Each player is also given their own piece of undeveloped real estate along with a virtual toolbox with which to design and build anything desired — be it a navigable skyscraper, a working helicopter, a giant pinball machine, a multiplayer "Capture the Flag" game or some other, yet-to-be-dreamed-up object or activity.

By participating and by building cool stuff, ROBLOX members can earn specialty badges as well as ROBLOX dollars ("ROBUX"). In turn, they can shop the online catalog to purchase avatar clothing and accessories as well as premium building materials, interactive components, and working mechanisms. check out www.roblox.com

Roblox Screenshot
Roblox RobloxRoblox Roblox


Wednesday, August 27, 2008

Vulnerability Scanners | Nessus | Free Download

Nessus is a free, easy to use remote vulnerability scanner that is a client-server application. The application is hosted on a server (typically a Unix server), where the software can be kept up-to-date. Nessus scans any system, whether it runs Windows, Mac OS or Unix/Linux. A client server application such as Nessus makes it possible to keep one easily-updatable software on a server and makes it easily accessible by as many clients as desired. Nessus also "doesn't take anything for granted" (nessus.org). No matter how your server or workstation is set up or what operating system it uses, it will scan for security vulnerabilities. For example, say your typical webserver is serving a site on port 8080 instead of the regular port 80. Nessus will scan all open ports, regardless of common and defaulted settings. other example below
  • Vulnerabilities that allow a remote cracker to control or access sensitive data on a system.
  • Misconfiguration (e.g. open mail relay, missing patches, etc).
  • Default passwords, a few common passwords, and blank/absent passwords on some system accounts. Nessus can also call Hydra (an external tool) to launch a dictionary attack.
  • Denials of service against the TCP/IP stack by using mangled packets

On UNIX (including Mac OS X), it consists of nessusd, the Nessus daemon, which does the scanning, and nessus, the client, which controls scans and presents the vulnerability results to the user. For Windows, Nessus 3 installs as an executable and has a self-contained scanning, reporting and management system.

I have personaly used this tool conjucntion with other tools in the past to check and audit my own servers for security flaws, before I moved it to production, I would say Intallation of this tool in any platform is simple and easy, the user interface is great and self explanatory, the produced report is easy to read and understand and can be presented immediately without edit, in my opinion this is one of the best and just because its free it probably is the best out there.



Windows Vista Theme | Free Downloads

A Windows Vista theme is a group of customized tweaks that changes menu appearance, icons, colors, fonts, screen savers, background, which let the user have a wonderful Windows Vista Experience and making their computer unique and their own.

Here is a quick how to on changing your Windows Vista theme, and also a video of how to enable custom themes In Windows Vista (+ SP1)

• go to your desktop. right click on any area.
• scroll down to “personalize” and click.
• a dialogue box will come up that says: “Personalize appearance and sounds.” Right below it are seven headers. Choose “theme” which is the sixth item, or second to the last item.
• a dialog box appears with the title “theme settings.”
• under “theme”, you have a small box with a drop down menu. If you click on the arrow, Windows Vista gives you four choices: current theme, Windows Vista, Windows Classic and browse.
• when you click on any of the four choices, you get a preview of the theme. Choose one by clicking “apply” or “OK”. If you don’t like any of what you see and decide to stick to what you have, simply click “cancel” or close the dialog box.





Here are some of my favorite Windows Vista theme I uswindows vista theme aeroe on my laptop
windows vista theme stylewindows vista theme street







Aero Liquid - here ----------- Vista Visual Style -here ---- Street Flash - here

Enjoy and personalize you Windows Vista with Windows Vista Theme


Computer and Network problem | Windows | How to below:

Tuesday, August 26, 2008

How to replace Playstation 3 (PS3) HD

If you have a Playstation 3 (PS3) and your already running out of space with the hard disk that came with it, like me you can easily replace the hard disk with any 2.5-inch SATA notebook harddisk, PS3 support up to 250gb, here is a great video from Youtube by Gamehelper on replacing your hard disk on your Playstation 3.

Enjoy.

Monday, August 25, 2008

Business Phone System | Open Source | Free

Business Phone system PBX trixboxIf your looking to set up a cheap and fully functional Business Phone system for your home or your office, or you just want to do some extra project and learn something new during your free time I suggest you try looking at Asterisk@Home or trixbox CE as they are currently called, Like any PBX trixbox CE allows a number of attached telephones to make calls to one another, and to connect to other telephone services including the PSTN, when i say full feature I mean even the basic trixbox CE includes many features previously only available in expensive proprietary PBX systems — voice mail, conference calling, interactive voice response (phone menus), and automatic call distribution, apart from that it also supports a wide range of Voice over IP, for more information regarding open source Business Phone System see trixbox CE website - www.trixbox.org

Friday, August 22, 2008

FiX | COM Surrogate Error | Windows Vista

I recently installed Windows Vista, its was working fine for few week, until one day I was browsing through some of my media file and I got this error "COM Surrogate has stopped working", I though at first maybe I just need to reboot my machine, so I did but every time I open the folder where my media files are on I get the same error, I even tried scanning my Windows for virus and spyware and found nothing, anyway I was only able to fix the problem when I searched Google and found the solution apparently a lot of people had the same problem.

Here is the solution that I use


Step 1 - Go to Control Panel > System > Advance System Settings
Step 2 - Click on Settings > Select "Turn On DEP"
Step 3 - Click Add, browse to c:\windows\system32\dllhost.exe
Step 4 - Then Ok

The COM surrogate error should go away now, Nero is the one causing the problem on my Windows Vista.

Enjoy!

I found the solution at How to Geek

Computer and Network problem | Windows | How to below:
Network Security System | IDS | IPS | Howto on Linux

Thursday, August 21, 2008

Quickpwn | iPhone 3G Jailbreak | Beta Updated | Howto

iPhone-Dev's QuickPwn for Windows has been updated now with GUI, Take note it is still in beta from iPhone-devs Blog:

Here is the updated QuickPwn for Windows, wrapped by Poorlad’s GUI. It contains our new bundles for 2.0.2 and we’ve added support for version 2.0 devices which means you can QuickPwn and jailbreak the device if it is running 2.0, 2.0.1 or 2.0.2.

Remember this is still beta software, so usual rules apply, no complaints ifanything goes wrong and use the tool at at your own risk!

Download here! SHA1 = 8e1ed2ce9e7e473d38a9dc7824a384a9ac34d7d0


Check the Video below How To Jailbreak 2.0.2 With QuickPwn




This is an update to a post I made earlier Quickpwn


Import Outlook PST to Gmail Howto

I recently had to import some of my old emails I have in PST format to my Outlook and Gmail and this is how I did it.

What you need

Thunderbird or any mail client that suppot IMAP
Gmail account with IMAP enabled - go to gmail > settings > forwarding / POP IMAP click enable
Outlook version of your PST file
An internet connection

Steps

Step 1 - Setup Thunderbird to get mail and connect to your Gmail using IMAP - instructions here
Step 2 - Import the PST file to your Outlook
Step 3 - Go to Thunderbird and import mail from Outlook
Step 4 - You should now see your PST mails in your Thunderbird by now, you should have 2 Main folders one from your Outlook PST mail and one Gmail folder, all you have to do is drag and drop the mails folder you want to your Gmail folder in Thunderbird or copy and paste it then your Done.

Sony PSP-3000 | Announced

psp-3000 psp playstation sony


Just read on Joystiq that Sony PSP 3000 has been announced and it will be available in Oct in Europe it is said that the new PSP-3000 has improved screen that has no glare and a built-in mic, I think this is great.

For more images and info visit Joystiq

Smart Bro | DNS Problem | Fix

I got a lot of questions from friends and strangers the past few days about Smart Bro not able to connect to a lot of website or takes a long time to lookup up a Domain, since the their DNS is setup by retarded blind monkeys I suggest not to use it and don't bother calling their tech support either they can't help you, most of them or all of them lack training and basic technical knowledge, read my review of Smart Bro anyway to fix the problem you need to change the DNS on your computer or Router, you will need setup static DNS, so follow my post on how to change your DNS to OpenDNS for Linux and Windows users.

BTW Smart Bro Router resets everyday at 12AM in my area, this is their solution to whatever problem their having, to recycle the router everyday - I think their getting paid too much to not do their job.

I can't wait for my contract to be over.


Computer and Network problem | Windows | How to below:
Network Security System | IDS | IPS | Howto on Linux

Wednesday, August 20, 2008

Ikariam | Like Civilization | Online Browser Game | Free

ikariam ikariam tech blogIkariam is a real-time browser game. The game is free to play, with optional "bonuses" available to be purchased. Ikariam focuses on developing and colonizing medieval towns and forging alliances with other players. Ikariam's game play is similar to games like Civilization and Age of Empire

I just started playing Ikariam on the beta server, and haven't explore but so far I notice that the games looks great for a browser game, anyway when you start the game you start with one city, located on a random island in a world they choose, Islands consist of two resources wood and a luxury resource, which is wine, marble, crystal glass, or sulphur. Players can assign workers from their city to acquire the resource, These resources are then used to build and upgrade a variety of buildings within the city, anyway I'' play it some more and see if get addicted to it, so far I like what I'm seeing and I'm having fun.


ikariam ikariam tech blogikariam ikariam tech blogikariam ikariam tech blogikariam ikariam tech blog


iPhone Dev Team - releases Quickpwn

The iPhone Dev-Team has released QuickPwn which will jailbreak your phone without requiring a full restore, read their blog post below

It’s a tool we’ve been working on to jailbreak a phone more quickly and easily, without requiring a full restore. Unless you are making a custom firmware with specific features, there is nothing inherent in the pwnage process that requires a restore, and we have been planning this tool for some time. It’s more convenient because you do not need to make a full IPSW and use iTunes with it, but your phone still ends up pwned and jailbroken.

In an attempt to be more open about our development process, we’re releasing a beta version of quickpwn, for Windows only. Other platforms are coming soon.

What you’re getting here is a development version (mostly feature complete) of an upcoming tool that we see as a complement to our current PwnageTool. It’s not ready for everyone just yet, but with a bit of expertise, it should work nicely for those of you adventurous enough to try it.

Currently QuickPwn requires your device to be running version 2.0.1 of the iPhone/iPod firmware. This requirement will change in a subsequent release.

Remember that although this is a development release, jailbreaking only deals with the S5L (application processor) side of the device, so it’s impossible for this to permanently damage your device.

This tool and technique has been available to the iPhone research and hacking community for about 5 days now (if you looked hard enough) and now that we have released it properly, we are sure you’ll see all sorts of tools popping back up that have, erm„ been on a long hiatus :-)

You can get it here.

QuickPwn.zip is 14781306 bytes and the SHA1 sum is fa1a930f30a5edb27decfcd049b7fdcc455ee276

PS: Yes, our best baseband hackers are working away hard on the 3G unlock, we are not sure when, or even if it is possible, but we’ll keep you informed of any new progress that is made.

PPS: As QuickPwn matures we would like to add a funky UI, you know the kind of new UI that we are trying to promote (as seen in the latest versions of PwnageTool) and we’d certainly like the Windows tool to mirror the UI lovelyness of these Mac tools, so watch this space!



Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Top 5 Quality Bit Torrent sites

Here is my list of top five best torrent sites

The Pirate Bay - This is probably one of the biggest or the biggest public torrent site, if you want movies, music, apps you will probably get it here and there are almost always have seeder.

BitMe - You won't find any pirated softwares here its all about learning torrent, there are very wide selection of torrent available from love making to learning a new language to business management to computer programming to ancient history, too bad not everyone can access it as its a close torrent and invitation are very rare these days.

Demonoid - Their still big, they did closed for a while after they were raided, but their back and their still good and reliable source of quality torrent, you will need an invitation code to sign up for an account.

Mininova - One of the biggest public torrent

Avistaz - Best source of Asian torrent on the web..

Check them out.

9 Easy Steps | Setup secured home wireless network

This is a guide on how to setup a secured wireless network in your home, this how to will cover routers, wep encryption, mac filtering and computer configuration, this tutorial assumes that all equip,emt are new and configuration is set to default factory settings, now lets begin


Note: this is written using Linksys WRT54G, but this will work on any wireless capable router

What you need:
  • - Wireless Capable Router - an example of this is Linksys WRT54G
  • - USB Wireless adaptor / dongle if your Laptop or Desktop is not yet wirelss capable.
  • - Internet Subscription - if you want to connect to the internet

Now lets connect the stuff together, if you don't have Internet connection ignore Step 1
Step 1 - Connect your DSL Modem(ISP provided) modem to your wireless router's WAN port at the back of the wireless router
Step 2 - Enable USB on your computer, or Connect the USB wireless adaptor and install the drivers for it to your computer
Step 3 - Once connected you should see an icon on the bottom right corner of your screen like to computers and a circle on it
Step 4 - This means your already connected to the internet and your network using wireless connection, now we want to secure the router so that nobody else can access it except for you and your authorize users, open up your web browser Firefox or Internet Explorer whichever you have, then type in 192.168.1.1 this is assuming you have the Linksys Router above, if not you can go to Start > Run > type cmd > then type ipconfig, Pay attention to IP Address whatever your IP Address is copy the first 3 and replace the last 3 digit with 1 i.e 192.168.1.100 change it to 192.168.1.1.
Step 5 - Once you have typed in the IP Address of your wireless router and hit enter, you will prompted for your password the password differs from brand refer to your manual - for Linksys routers the default is admin for username and admin password.
Step 6 - Select the wireless tab then select wirless security or encryption, Select WEP/WPA or WPA2 from the drop down box and select either 40-bit or 128-bit. the 40-bit keys contain 10 hexadecimal digits; the 128-bit keys contain 26 hexadecimal digits, enter the password, remember this as this will be the password if you want a computer to connect to your wireless network, remember to save your work.
Step 7 - Now that we have the Wireless network secured, we want to secure the wireless router itself, we go to Administration > then management you can change the password here, I would also suggest checking https and unchecking http, https is encrypted and prevent anyone sniffing your network seeing your password when you log into the router, now save then your done.
Step 8 - Now we disconnect and test if we can connect to our wireless network with our password, if you successfully connect your done, if not make sure you types the right password.
Step 9 - If you want to step up your wireless security a bit more you can go to Wireless > Wireless MAC Filter > Select Enable > Select Permit > then click EDIT MAC FILTER LIST > You can ADD your computers MAC Addresses here, basically you will only allow computer with the MAC address listed to connect.

To find out what is your computer's mac address Goto Start > Run > type cmd > Type ipconfig /all Pay Attention to "Physical Address" enter that minus the dash "-" symbol like so 001AA05812CB, save then your done.

If you encounter network problems follow this Easy Network Troubleshooting


Computer and Network problem | Windows | How to below:
Network Security System | IDS | IPS | Howto on Linux

Monday, August 18, 2008

3D Picture wall | Firefox Piclens add-on


Install this cool Firefox add-on called Piclens and you will be able to browse through your flickr album and search Google image in 3D picture wall, the first time I installed and saw this Firefox add-on I was amaze how smooth it is and slick the interface is, like when you click on an image it automaticllay render the full size of the image, I also like ability to zoom in and out when browsing many images it enable you to go to the set of images you want on very easily, anyway just get the add-ons and see the 3D picture wall for yourself. www.cooliris.com

Saturday, August 16, 2008

Smart Bro | DNS setting | DNS Server IP | DNS Secondary

Here is a simple internet connection tip that may make your connection faster, and browsing more reliable, this guide will show you how to change your DNS setting on your router or your computer on Windows or Linux, using the Open DNS server IP as your DNS primary or DNS secondary, if your asking how can changing a DNS setting and by using Open DNS Server IP make your connection faster and browsing more reliable the reason is OpenDNS's server are simply closer to where you are at least if your in Europe or US, takes less hops to reach and resolve domain faster, if your using Smart Bro it also benefit you because Smart's DNS is just plain slow.

if you run into problems follow the Network Troubleshooting Guide

Steps to change the DNS setting on your ROUTER using OpenDNS DNS server IP

Step 1 - Log into your router
Step 2 - Look for the part "Static DNS"
Step 3 - Type the following IP Address into the DNS Primary and DNS Secondary field 208.67.222.222 | 208.67.220.220.
Step 4 - Save
Step 5 - To check disconnect from the router and reconnect, once your connected type the command "ipconfig /all" on Windows and on Linux use this command "cat /etc/resolv.conf" check your DNS server line on Windows, and on Linux "nameserver" line the entries should be the 2 IP addresses above.

if you run into problems follow the Network Troubleshooting Guide

Steps to manually set the DNS setting on your computer

Step 1 -
On Windows XP Goto Control Panel > Network Connection > Right click on the interface > Select TCP IP > Click on Properties > Use Manually Enter IP > just use the IP your currently using use "ipconfig /all" to check, then enter the DNS server IP on the DNS primary and DNS secondary field.

On Windows Vista Goto Control Panel > Network Connection > Right click on the interface > then click on manage network > Select TCP IP > Click on Properties > Use Manually Enter IP > just use the IP your currently using use "ipconfig /all" to check, then enter the DNS server IP on the DNS primary and DNS secondary field.

On Linux issue the following command

echo "nameserver 208.67.222.222" > /etc/resolv.conf
echo "nameserver 208.67.220.220" >> /etc/resolv.conf

After changing teh DNS setting and DNS server IP try pinging google using the ping command
ping google.com

You should get an echo reply if you did it correctly, if you run into problems follow the Network Troubleshooting Guide

Thats it, visit www.opendns.com for more info on OpenDNS service.

Computer and Network problem | Windows | How to below:
Network Security System | IDS | IPS | Howto on Linux

Thursday, August 14, 2008

Bypass Firewall | Proxy with SSH | Hamachi

Here is a quick tip for bypassing proxy and firewall :) using SSH, or you can use it for securing unsecured connection by creating a secured tunnel using SSH port forwarding this tip is for Windows user, for Linux user Ill write one in the future or do it properly using Stunnel.

Some proxy or firewall are configured to not allow outgoing SSH traffic thats is where Hamachi comes in, see near the bottom of this post for Hamachi how to, if you have that problem.

Now what you need for this

Putty
Unix/Linux server that has access to the internet that you can connect to

Step 1 - Run Putty
Step 2 - Click on Connection > SSH > Tunnel in the sidebar
Step 3 - Check "Dynamic" and type 10000 on "Source Port" then click add, you should see D10000 in the Forwarded Port box.
Step 4 - Click on session on the sidebar
Step 5 - Type the IP address or hostname of the Unix/Linux host in the hostname field, make sure port 22 the value of port box, and ssh is checked, type a name in Saved Session then clicked save.
Step 6 - Click open to connect to your host, login to the host
Step 7 - Once logged in open your browser(Firefox), click on Tools > Option > Adavance >Settings > check Manual proxy configuration - then type 127.0.0.1 on HTTP Proxy and 10000 on Port, then select "use this proxy for all protocols", click ok then your done.

To check if port 10000 is listening on your computer, goto command prompt then type "netstat -a" look for "127.0.0.1:10000 LISTENING"

Now if outgoing SSH traffic is not allowed you can try doing the instruction above plus with the help of Hamachi click here for the guide to get your SSH connection through.

Thats it.

Madden 2009 | Available Now | torrent download?



Madden NFL 2009, the latest version of the No. 1 selling video football game, went on sale, I wonder if there are any torrent download available now? :)

Open Source CRM Solutions

Recently one of my client ask me if I can find and setup a demo of Open Source CRM solutions so that he can evaluate it for his business, anyway I read up on CRM and found some good CRM Whitepaper and some good Open Source CRM solution that are easy to setup, so far i have installed about about Open Source 3 CRM solution SugarCRM, Vtiger, and Dafodill Since I'm not really a fan of Java, I decided to just setup LAMP based Open Source CRM solution, anyway after installation and configuration which I found very easy on all three, I realize that most of this CRM solution are the same in function and features they are all very basic and I doubt they will be very usefull out of the box for use in Business with out a lot of modification to fit the need of the company, it might be much cheaper to just buy a full featured working proprietary CRM solution IMHO.


What is CRM - entails all aspects of interaction a company has with its customer, whether it is sales or service related; it starts with the foundation of relationship marketing. CRM is a systematic approach towards using information and on going dialogue to built long lasting mutually beneficial customer relationship.

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

Noob's Free Antivirus Software | Firewall

Here are some free software for protecting your computer and keeping it that way, this software are some of the software I have used in the past and have good experience with, and some are stuff that I'm currently still using on my computers that has Windows on it, they are all free to download and install.

I hope you guys find the list useful.

Web Browser

This are free and better alternative to Internet Explorer, better in security and in my opinion in features and interface, I like Firefox browser so much that I use it every day whether I'm on my Linux or Windows computer and I also use Opera as my backup browser, basically I don't use Internet explorer, and I'm not interested in buggy Safari i would rather use IE than safari.
  • Opera - A very nice looking, full feature browser probably one of the best browser out there www.opera.com
  • Firefox 3 - Probably the best browser out there, plus loads of add-ons which add features to the Firefox browser, you can check out some of best add-ons here -www. firefox.com
  • Avant - I have never used Avant but I have heard some good things about it, from what I remember its based on Internet Explorer - www.avantbrowser.com

Firewall

Software firewalls are programs that run on your computer and sits themselves between your network software drivers and your operating system. They intercept attacks before your operating system can acknowledge them, here are some of my favorite free effective firewall, currently I'm back to using Zonealarm, but any of these firewall is good, if you don't want to install firewall on your windows computer at least turn on the built in Windows firewall.

  • OutPost Firewall - www.agnitum.com/products/outpostfree/
  • Comodo Firewall - www.personalfirewall.comodo.com/
  • Zonealam - this is probably one of my favorite firewall for desktop www.zonealarm.com


Virus, Spyware Scanner

Full Feature Realtime Antivirus scanner - these are normally installed and use to prevent virus from entering your computer, these software will scan all files coming in to your computer whether its from a disk or from the internet.

  • Avast - I currently have Avast installed on my computer and its very effective and works great - www.avast.com
  • AVG - I haven't use AVG for while I'm not sure how good the new version is, but from my previous experience using its very good at detecting virus but not at cleaning and removing it if your using a free version. - free.avg.com

Manual Antivirus scanner - these tools are usually used, when all else have failed like your when you computer is already infected and your anti-virus is not working properly, you can use the tools below to scan your computer.

  • Clamwin - Is Clamwin is an opensource Anti-virus, its really good at detecting and removing virus but its a bit slow. www.clamwin.com/
  • Trendmicro Sysclean - This tool will probably be your best friend when your computer is already infected and its totally unusable just run this on safe mode scan, almost 99% of the time if your infected it will be able to get rid of it, as long as you have an updated definition file, to learn how to use this tool follow the instruction and the link here .
  • Spyware Terminator - I have not use this tool but I hear that its very good at what it does. www.spywareterminator.com
  • Spybot search and Destroy - I have good experience with Spybot SD, I like it very much as it does not only scan your computer of adware and spyware but it also guard your registry from unauthorize entry, Spybot SD also comes with a file shredder to permanently delete your file. www.safer-networking.org/index2.html
  • Adaware - One of the most effective Adware scanner out there, I'm not really fond of the new adware i feel its too slow, but it still does the job. www.lavasoft.com
That it have a safe computing day.

How to Kismet wireless sniffer | your neighbor

Last week I discovered that my neighbor is connecting to my unsecured wireless router, and been using my internet connection, I don't know how long she have been doing it, anyway I logged into my router and check the DHCP client table, there I saw a hostname and mac address that is not familiar to me, at first I thought about setting up the WEP key to prevent her from connecting, but realize that won't be fun, instead decided to sniff her wireless traffic and see what data I can get, after sniffing for couple of days I sent her a letter with some details of her traffic and suggestion on what to surf on the net, just to see if I can scare here off, right now my wireless router is still unsecure but no one is connecting to it and its been 3 days, anyway this is a quick and dirty how to on configuring and using Kismet

By the way I don't know my neighbor, I know its a She because I searched her on Facebook using her login e-mail that I found on the dumps.

Now onto Kismet how to

What you need
- A Linux OS - in this case I use Mepis as it is already installed on my laptop
- Wireless card that is supported by Kismet check Kismet documentation
- Kismet - an 802.11 layer2 wireless network detector, sniffer, and intrusion detection system.
- Ncurses
- Tcpdump - to read the dump files, you can also use ethereal
- And finally intruder in your network using wireless

In my case I installed Kismet using apt-get as I have Mepis installed on my Laptop.

Once Kismet is installed do
$cd /etc/kismet
$vi /etc/kismet/kismet.conf

And edit the following line in

Kismet configuration file - kismet.conf
-----------------------------
You need to set the user, in my case I run it as root as it is not working for me as regular user

# User to setid to (should be your normal user)
#suiduser=your_user_here



You need to define your interface in my case the chip I have is "ipw3945", interface "eth1" and i want it named "Kismet", search the Kismet documentation for the source type of your interface
# Sources are defined as:
# source=sourcetype,interface,name[,initialchannel]
# Source types and required drivers are listed in the README under the
# CAPTURE SOURCES section.
# The initial channel is optional, if hopping is not enabled it can be used
# to set the channel the interface listens on.
# YOU MUST CHANGE THIS TO BE THE SOURCE YOU WANT TO USE
source=ipw3945,eth1,kismet


We don't want channel hopping since we already know what channel their connecting to
# Do we channelhop?
channelhop=false


Since we don't want channel hop I defined the channel(11) I want to sniff on for 802.11b network
# Users outside the US might want to use this list:
# defaultchannels=IEEE80211b:1,7,13,2,8,3,14,9,4,10,5,11,6,12
#defaultchannels=IEEE80211b:1,6,11,2,7,3,8,4,9,5,10
defaultchannels=IEEE80211b;11

And for 802.11g network
# 802.11g uses the same channels as 802.11b...
defaultchannels=IEEE80211g;11
----------------------------

you can edit the log format, the log limit or the path where you want it to log if you want.

After changing the values on the configuration files type
$kismet

Once kismet is running press on the letter "s" it should select the AP it see, then type on "t" to tag that AP, now pree "d" to see dumps on your screen, press "h" for more help on other command.

Once your through sniffing go to the log files save under /var/log/kismet
$cd /var/log/kismet

Now to read your dumps issue the command
$tcpdump -vvv -XX -p tcp -nr /var/log/kismet/Kismet.date.dump

Short description of tcpdump option used above

- vvv for very verbose
- XX Print headers of each packet, print the data of each packet, including its link level header, in hex and ASCII.
- p Protcol
-n Do not resolve IP
-r Read packets from file


Thats it and enjoy sniffing.

Tuesday, August 12, 2008

Transparent proxy | Iptables

This is a quick guide on how to do transparent proxy using Iptables rule, if you don't want your users to know their going through a proxy server/appliance and don't want to configur their work station,


If you have a proxy in different machine use the following rule

iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -i incominginterface -p tcp --dport 80 -j DNAT --to proxyip:proxyport

If you have proxy service on the same machine use the following rule

iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -i incomminginterface -s sourceip -p tcp --dport 80 -j REDIRECT --to-port proxyport


Make sure that your post route rule is on the same IP block as your proxy server, otherwise you will need to add route on yor routing tables and add the following rule to your Iptables

iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o outgoinginterface -s sourcedip -d destinationip -j SNAT --to sourceip-mustbesameblockasdestinationip

For the Outgoing interface, if you have IP aliasing(Multiple IP on single NIC) setup, you can specify the same interface, but you still need to add route to your routing table from one block to the other.


Take NOTE that transparent proxy only works with proxy that doesn't have authentication setup.


Thats it for a quick guide.

Thanks for the correction! :)

Monday, August 11, 2008

Permanently deleting files | data on your hard disk

Did you know deleted files from your hard drive can easily be recovered, even if you empty the recycle bin, You think they are gone, but they can easily be restored using data recovery tools.

Here is a quick guide on how to permanently delete a file or wiping out a hard disk on Windows and Linux

On Windows you need to download a file shredder program, if you have "Spybot Search and Destroy" on your PC you probably all ready have a file shredder installed, you can just goto Start > Programs > Spybot Search and Destroy you should see File Shredder under Spybot Seacrh and Destroy sub menu.

Click on it to start it up, then Add the files you wanted to be Shred, indicate how many times you want it to overwrite (pass through the area on your hard disk), at least 32 times is recommended, wait for it to finish then your done.


On Linux you can use Shred, a command line Linux tool to shred files or hard disk


If you want to Shred or permanently delete a file on your hard disk the command and see what shred is doing use the -v option

shred -uv yourfilehere

if you want to shred an entire hard disk you can use the command below while attaching the hard disk that you want to erase as a second disk, if you have only one hard disk and you want to shred that disk, you will have to boot from a Live CD Linux like Ubuntu and use the command below which will overwrite the disk 32 times for more details on shred do "man shred"

shred -vf -n 32 /dev/yourhardisk

Note: Shredding entire disk take a lot of time, also after shredding you will need to rebuild your partition table and format your hard disk.


That's it for now.



Sunday, August 10, 2008

Winpwn | Pwnage jailbreak for iPod | iPhone

The iPhone-Dev has released an update to their iPhone and iPod jailbreak tool Winpwn for Windows user and Pwnage for Mac users both are for jailbreaking 2.0.1 firmware.

You can get both at - www.installerapps.com

Have a good weekend!

iPod charging on DVD player w/o dock

I got curious today when I discover that my cheap(P1,200 about $30) China made DVD player came with a USB port a feature for playing videos from USB thumb drives, since my iPod touch's battery is almost used up, I decided to get the cable and plug it into the USB port of the DVD player to see if I can charge it from there, I was surprise that the DVD player was able to charge my iPod touch till the battery is full without problem.

I also discovered that it only works if I have a disc inside the DVD player, and as long as the disc is inside and the player is turned on it will keep on charging, but if I try to plug the iPod into the DVD player's USB port without a disc inside the player will cause the iPod's screen to flicker as it attempt to detect it, basically it won't work unless there is a disc inside the player.

Pictures of my iPod Touch plugged in to the DVD player while charging.



Maybe my cheap DVD player isn't so pathetic after all :0

Saturday, August 09, 2008

Peter answer | Petals Around the Rose Puzzle

Here is 2 for you to solve, first one is called Peter Answer one of my friend introduce me to Peter Answer by telling me it can read my mind and hear the question and answer if I shout the it, I guess it isn't called Peter Answer Virtual Tarrot for nothing and yes it was able to guess what the correct answer to my question is, now go and see if you can figure out what Peter Answer's secret is :)

Another site that I was introduce too some years ago was a puzzle game called Petals Around the Rose the idea is the computer will roll five dice and ask you to guess the score for the roll. the score will always be zero or an even number. your mission is to work out how the computer calculates the score and become a Potentate of the Rose, it took me around 10 minutes to figure out how the puzzle works and about 5 to 6 tries, I was so frustrated by the fourth try :) by the way there is also a great story about Bill Gates and the Puzzle on the site, I think that's it for me today, what a slow day.

Peter Answer - www.peteranswers.com
Petals around the Rose - www.borrett.id.au/computing/petals-j.htm

Hamachi VPN a quick guide

Here is quick guide for Hamachi, for those who is still in the dark with this very useful tool, I'm going to talk about a making your web server and other service accessible through the internet even if your behind a NAT firewall (wink Smart Bro users), I personnaly use this get through smart's firewall connection at home, first introduction what Hamachi is..


From wikipedia:

Hamachi is a centrally-managed zero-configuration virtual private network (VPN) freeware application capable of establishing direct links between computers that are behind NAT firewalls without requiring reconfiguration (in most cases); in other words, it establishes a connection over the Internet that very closely emulates the connection that would exist if the computers were connected over a local area network. Currently available as a production version for Microsoft Windows and, as beta, for Mac OS X and Linux.
my assumption you already have a web server it does not matter what type running behind the NAT firewall, you have an internet connection.

Steps
Step 1 Download and Install Hamachi on your computer and the server- follow the instruction during Hamachi installation
Step 2 Create or Join an existing network
Step 3 Write down the IP beside the server name found inside the Hamachi window
Step 4 Type that into to your browser you should be able to get to your webserver from anywhere as long as the server and your computer can connect to the Hamachi network you can access your site.

Friday, August 08, 2008

Build your own IDS or IPS - Part 3 - Installing and Configuring MySQL for ACID and Snort


This is from one of my old documentation, After going through my three part how to you should have your own IDS/IPS running and logging to MySQL DB

Part 1 -Installing and Configuring ACID
Part 2 - Installing and Configuring Snort with MySQL
Part 3 - Installing and Configuring MySQL for ACID and Snort


ACID stands for Analysis Console for Intrusion Databases (ACID) is a PHP-based analysis engine to search and process a database of security events generated by various IDSes, firewalls, and network monitoring tools.

Snort is an open source network intrusion prevention and detection system utilizing a rule-driven language, which combines the benefits of signature, protocol and anomaly based inspection methods. With millions of downloads to date, Snort is the most widely deployed intrusion detection and prevention technology worldwide and has become the de facto standard for the industry.


Continuation from Part 2 - Installing and Configuring Snort with MySQL


i'm pretty sure some procedure for installation have change from when I wrote this how to please check your readme files for more information
----------------------------------------------------
Mysql Installation and Configuration for ACID and Snort
----------------------------------------------------

==================================================================
root@router2:/usr/local# tar -xzvf mysql-standard-5.0.0-alpha-pc-linux-i686.tar.gz
root@router2:/usr/local# ln -s full-path-to-mysql-VERSION-OS mysql
root@router2:/usr/local# cd mysql
root@router2:/usr/local/mysql# scripts/mysql_install_db
root@router2:/usr/local/mysql# chown -R root .
root@router2:/usr/local/mysql# chown -R mysql data
root@router2:/usr/local/mysql# chgrp -R mysql .
root@router2:/usr/local/mysql# bin/mysqld_safe --user=mysql &
=================================================================

to start mysql - "bin/mysqld_safe --user=mysql &"

-----------------------


Configuring MySQL for SNORT and ACID use

To allow Snort to send alerts to MySQL you first have to install MySQL. With most linux distributions there are MySQL packages available so you should use them. If not you'll probably have to compile and install it from scratch by downloading the tarball from http://www.mysql.org/. Take a look at the documentation shipped with MySQL to set it up.

When you have a running MySQL daemon you have to initialize a snort database. This is documented in the next section.

Since there should be a password set for each account you'll have to use the -p option on the mysql commandline.

==============================================================
[root@ids01 /root]# mysql -u root -p
Reading table information for completion of table and column names
You can turn off this feature to get a quicker startup with -A

Welcome to the MySQL monitor. Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is 133 to server version: 3.23.32

Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the buffer

mysql>create database snort;
Query OK, 1 row affected (0.00 sec)

mysql> connect snort
Reading table information for completion of table and column names
You can turn off this feature to get a quicker startup with -A

Connection id: 139
Current database: snort

mysql> status
--------------
mysql Ver 11.12 Distrib 3.23.32

Connection id: 139
Current database: snort
Current user: root@localhost
Current pager: stdout
Using outfile: ''
Server version: 3.23.32
Protocol version: 10
Connection: Localhost via UNIX socket
Client characterset: latin1
Server characterset: latin1
UNIX socket: /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock
Uptime: 1 day 2 hours 6 min 21 sec

Threads: 14 Questions: 4272 Slow queries: 0 Opens: 58 Flush tables: 1 Open tables: 18 Queries per second avg: 0.045
--------------

mysql> grant CREATE,INSERT,SELECT,DELETE,UPDATE on snort.* to snort@localhost;
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.00 sec)

mysql> flush privileges;
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.00 sec)

mysql> exit
Bye
================================================

To generate the required table structure of the database use the create_mysql script which can be found in the contrib section of the original Snort tarball.

================================================
[root@ids01 /root]# mysql -u root -p snort < ./contrib/create_mysql ================================================= You'll have to add a userid/password pair for the database, remember to change xxxx to a password suitable for your environment! ================================================= [root@ids01 /root]# mysql -u root -p mysql Reading table information for completion of table and column names You can turn off this feature to get a quicker startup with -A Welcome to the MySQL monitor. Commands end with ; or \g. Your MySQL connection id is 148 to server version: 3.23.32 Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the buffer mysql> insert into user (User,Password) values('snort',PASSWORD('xxxx'));
Query OK, 1 row affected (0.00 sec)

mysql> exit
Bye
=================================================

Now add some extra tables for your convenience shipped in the contrib section of the snort tarball and my RPM using the command

=================================================
zcat snortdb-extra.gz | mysql -u root -p snort
=================================================

If you wish to use the archiving feature of ACID you'll have to create another database snort_archive (or any other name you prefer) exactly the same way as you defined the snort database.

From now on the database is ready to be used for logging with the database output module of snort which you could now activate in /etc/snort/snort.conf.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DONE - It should be Working Perfectly NOW!


Part 1 -Installing and Configuring ACID
Part 2 - Installing and Configuring Snort with MySQL
Part 3 - Installing and Configuring MySQL for ACID and Snort



Thursday, August 07, 2008

Globe | iPhone 3g Philippines

Globe Iphone | iphone 3g
Seem like Globe announce their release date of iPhone 3G, The plan rate and phone pricing are totally out of this world, I wonder how many people will get it on August 22


Globe Telecom to Bring iPhone 3G to the Philippines on August 22

MANILA – August 6, 2008 – Globe Telecom today announced that it will bring iPhone 3G to the Philippines on August 22. iPhone 3G combines all the revolutionary features of iPhone plus 3G networking that is twice as fast*, built-in GPS for expanded location-based mobile services, and iPhone 2.0 software which includes support for Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync and runs hundreds of third party applications available through the new App Store.

“We are very excited to launch iPhone 3G here in the Philippines. Beginning August 22, Globe is bringing to the Filipinos the best browsing experience through the revolutionary iPhone 3G on our 3G/HSDPA network,” said Gerardo C. Ablaza Jr., president and CEO of Globe Telecom.

Globe will be offering special post paid plans that will allow consumers to experience the exciting features of iPhone 3G. These special plans will come with free local mobile internet hours and free Wi-Fi browsing hours (in areas covered by Globe Wireless Internet Zones). This, together with Globe’s call and text rates, ensures excellent connectivity. iPhone 3G will also be available on existing Globe tariff plans.

Consumer interested in purchasing iPhone 3G with Globe postpaid and prepaid offers are encouraged to start making their reservations beginning August 6 by calling Globe’s 24-Hour Call-in Service via landline (632)7301000 or 211 via toll-free mobile or visiting
www.iphone3g.globe.com.ph.

iPhone 3G operates on Wi-Fi, EDGE and 3G networks to give the best e-mail, web browsing, search and maps applications for a mobile phone. 3G provides the subscriber faster access to the Internet as well as the capability to transmit and receive data in various forms such as photos, video and audio.

*Based on 3G and EDGE testing. Actual speeds vary by site conditions.

Globe Telecom is a leading telecommunications company in the Philippines with more than 21 million mobile subscribers. As a pioneer, Globe continues to be a part of the revolution that’s connecting millions of people across the country and around the world. Beyond technology, Globe’s business is truly shaped by the bonds that tie Filipinos together. Communications is ultimately about relationships, and this drives the company to innovate and constantly find easy and relevant ways to enrich people’s lives

Build your own IDS or IPS - Part 2 - Installing and Configuring Snort with MySQL

This is from one of my old documentation, After going through my three part how to you should have your own IDS/IPS running and logging to MySQL DB

Part 1 -Installing and Configuring ACID
Part 2 - Installing and Configuring Snort with MySQL
Part 3 - Installing and Configuring MySQL for ACID and Snort


ACID stands for Analysis Console for Intrusion Databases (ACID) is a PHP-based analysis engine to search and process a database of security events generated by various IDSes, firewalls, and network monitoring tools.

Snort is an open source network intrusion prevention and detection system utilizing a rule-driven language, which combines the benefits of signature, protocol and anomaly based inspection methods. With millions of downloads to date, Snort is the most widely deployed intrusion detection and prevention technology worldwide and has become the de facto standard for the industry.



Continuation from Part 1 -Installing and Configuring ACID


-----------------------------------------------------------
Snort - Install with Mysql support and Configure snort.conf for output modules
----------------------------------------------------------

root@router2:/src/snort-2.2.0# ./configure --with-mysql=/usr/local/mysql-*********.**
root@router2:/src/snort-2.2.0# make
root@router2:/src/snort-2.2.0# make install

Now to configure snort edit -> snort.conf
root@router2:/src/snort-2.2.0/etc# vi snort.conf

---------------------
Snort Output Modules

The next part is the configuration of the output modules of which we will use the syslog module alert_syslog to send alerts to syslog and database to additionally log to a MySQL database.

The alert_syslog module requires some options for what has to be logged. If like in my case you are using SnortSnarf to analyse the logfile you'll have to add the option LOG_PID else SnortSnarf has problems.

As stated before we will use ACID and thus we need to set up snort to log to a database. I chose MySQL for no particular reason (well, I've heard more from MySQL than from postgreSQL but that's all).

The database output module requires the following parameters:

================================================================
log | alert

Log to the alert facility. Also possible would be the log facility. If you would like to get portscan alerts into the database you have to use alert here.
mysql|postgrsql|odbc|oracle|mssql

This is the type of database.
user=

Here you define the username to be used with the database.
password=

The required password for the given user.
dbname=

The name of the database to be used for logging into.
host=

Here you define the host on which the database is running. Use localhost if the database is running on the snort sensor itself.
sensor_name=

Here you put in a unique name which is used to differentiate between various sensors if more than one is logging into a single database.

Now let's take a look on the output module part of /etc/snort/snort.conf:

output alert_syslog: LOG_AUTH LOG_ALERT LOG_PID
output database: alert, mysql, user=snort password=mypassword dbname=snort host=localhost sensor_name=mysensor
=================================================================

If you are using more than one physical snort sensor and would log to a database I would recommend using a central database on a separate machine. You then can correlate alert data with a single console getting a better overview when attacks are found.

On to
Part 3 - Installing and Configuring MySQL for ACID and Snort


Part 1 -Installing and Configuring ACID
Part 2 - Installing and Configuring Snort with MySQL
Part 3 - Installing and Configuring MySQL for ACID and Snort


For suggestion and concerns E-mail